OR [rank_math_breadcrumb]

Awards Jamaica News

Global Tourism Resilience Inaugural Awards at COP 28 in Dubai

COP28 Awar dDUbai
Written by assignment editor

The Jamaica Mnister of Tourism, Hon. Edmund Bartlett, is currently in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE), where he is attending COP 28, the United Nations Climate Change Conference 2023, with global leaders,  government representatives and other leading stakeholders, discussing how to limit and prepare for climate change.

Minister Bartlett will present the inaugural Global Tourism Resilience Awards during his visit to the UAE. Five honorary awards will be bestowed on five organizations that have demonstrated global leadership, pioneering vision, and innovation to overcome critical challenges and adversity. The inaugural winners will act as benchmarks of tourism resilience best practice.

Minister Bartlett presented the honors as part of the 30th annual World Travel Awards at the iconic Burj Al Arab Jumeirah on Friday, December 1, with a VIP audience of global travel leaders in attendance.

The Global Tourism Resilience Awards fall under The Global Tourism Resilience and Crisis Management Centre (GTRCMC) – an international think-tank headquartered in Jamaica, with satellites in Africa, Canada, and the Middle East.

Founded by Minister Bartlett in 2018, the GTRCMC aims to help tourism stakeholders worldwide prepare for, manage, and recover from a crisis.

This is accomplished through providing services such as training, crisis communications, policy advice, project management, event planning, monitoring, evaluation, research, and data analytics. The focus of the GTRCMC includes climate resilience, security and cybersecurity resilience, digital transformation and resilience, entrepreneurial resilience, and pandemic resilience.

The GTRCMC has inaugurated these Awards to celebrate monumental achievements by countries, Tourism organizations, and individuals who have defied the Odds and bounced back stronger and better following mega disruptions (climate-related, human, or environmental).

The UN has designated February 17 as Global Tourism Resilience Day and the first Anniversary will be celebrated in Jamaica, Malaga Kenya ( Nairobi), and other locations worldwide. It will feature the second Global awards banquet for the Americas.

The World Travel Awards, UNWTO, OAS, CHTA, CTO, WTTC, WTN, PATA, ATB, and other international tourism and Travel Gatekeepers are invited to participate.

About the author

assignment editor

Leave a Comment