OR [rank_math_breadcrumb]

News People

CTO Secretary-General Cited for Leadership

CTO Secretary-General Dona Regis-Prosper in Miami on Saturday - image courtesy of CTO
Written by Linda Hohnholz

The 2023 Leadership Award has been presented to Dona Regis-Prosper, the Secretary-General and CEO of the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO), by the Caribbean Media Exchange (CMEx).

Regis-Prosper was honored at the awards luncheon and fundraising event on Saturday, December 2, 2023. Her remarkable leadership in various roles within the tourism and hospitality industry, spanning over twenty years, was recognized. Notably, she made history by becoming the first woman to lead the CTO, the tourism development agency for the Caribbean region.

For nearly a decade, Regis-Prosper has skillfully managed the development of various organizations and initiatives across multiple islands and territories, significantly enhancing their reputation in the tourism industry of the Caribbean.

She has held various positions in her career, such as transforming the Saint Lucia Air and Sea Ports Authority into a more service-oriented organization and fostering a customer service culture at the port facilities. Additionally, she served as the Director of Business Development for Margaritaville Caribbean Group in Jamaica, the CEO of the Tortola Pier Park in the British Virgin Islands, where she successfully launched new cruise and shopping center facilities, and the General Manager of the Antigua Cruise Port, where she was responsible for overseeing the facility’s launch.

Honored at the 2023 CMEx Leadership Awards and Fundraiser, hosted at the Loews Coral Gables Hotel in Miami over the weekend, were distinguished individuals recognized for their exceptional achievements in the Caribbean tourism, hospitality, and communications industries. Notable awardees include:

•             Ewald Biemans, Owner/CEO, Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort in Aruba

•             Rosa Harris, Director, Cayman Islands Department of Tourism, and Chairman, CTO Board of Directors

•             Stan Hartling, Owner and CEO, The Hartling Group

•             Joy Jibrilu, CEO, Nassau Paradise Island Promotion Board

•             Nicola Madden-Greig, OD, President, Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association

•             Pat Montague, President/CEO, Pat Montague Marketing & Promotions

•             Beverly Nicolson-Doty, CEO, Figment Design and former CTO Chairman

•             Kevin O’Reggio, Strategic Account Director of Global Sales, Wyndham Hotels & Resorts

•             Michele Paige, CEO, Florida-Caribbean Cruise Association

•             Julian Rogers MBE, Founder, MEDIAROGERS GROUP

Regis-Prosper said:

“Today, I was filled with immense pride as I received the 2023 Caribbean Media Exchange (CMEx) Leadership Award in Miami. I am truly humbled to be recognized among a group of distinguished professionals who are working collaboratively to shape the future of Caribbean communications, tourism and hospitality. This event not only celebrated our achievements but also fostered deeper connections and ignited new conversations as we rally around the Caribbean.”

CMEx is recognized for its core values of progress and sustainability, which are embodied by Regis-Prosper through their unwavering dedication to strategic planning, business growth, policy creation and implementation, and the introduction of innovative strategies to boost the global competitiveness of Caribbean tourism.

CMEx was created with the aim of fostering the sharing of exemplary methods among media communicators and individuals from the public and private sectors, working alongside NGOs, academia, community organizations, and young people.

About the author

Linda Hohnholz

Leave a Comment